Ricky Ray Update

Just wanted to give everyone an update of Ricky Ray. I just got off the phone with Beverly who says that things are not going to well for Ricky.  Because his leg isn’t healing as it should, he is scheduled for surgery tomorrw (Monday) morning (8-17-2009) to remove a portion of his leg -six inches below the knee and down. He is a patient at Ephram McDowel Hospital in Danville.  His sister Phylis (Married to our former principal, Delmar Warren) is watching over him and has been caring for him while he has been in the Nursing Home. She asks that we begin sending Ricky cards of encouragment as well as asking that if any of his former classmates still live in the area, that we go by to visit him. As you might guess, this is a scary time as well as a trying time for Ricky.  Remember him in your prayers.

I’ll update the blog regarding his surgery and recovery as information is passed on to me.

Darlene

5 Responses to “Ricky Ray Update”

  1. Phillip Stevens Says:

    I went by the hospital this afternoon (Mon. Aug 17) Rick came through his surgery very well. He was awake when I arrived and was able to talk to me a little. His speach is limited now under normal conditions and they definately had him heavily sedated (morophine drip). He seemed to recognize me and he did answer my questions, though he did not add anything more than a one or two word answer. I only stayed a few minutes as he kept nodding off. Before I left I asked him if he’d like for me to pray with him. He said yes, so we did. When I left I patted him on the shoulder and said, “I love you man.” He smiled and said, “I love you too Phil.”
    Please keep Big Rick in your prayers. He needs them.

    Phillip Stevens

  2. Debra Bandy Bryant Says:

    Phillip, This has shook me more than anything. Mom is going to visit him. I was home in July but was ill so I did not go visit him. Will you let him know that I still Love him and praying for him. Debbie

  3. Phillip Stevens Says:

    Debbie,
    I sure will tell Rick what you said. I plan to see him this weekend (8-22or 8-23) I’m sure it will mean a lot to him.

  4. Sheryl Hall Moody Says:

    Saw Rick yesterday and he seemed to be doing better. Delmar says that his leg is healing nicely. Not sure, with all his problems that he will ever be eligible for an artifical leg. His mental state was much better than I expected and he actually carried on a real conversation this time (first time in about a year that he actually made comments on his own, without prompting). He could sure use some of the guys going by to see him to talk sports, etc!

Leave a comment